top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLana Tillack

A Little Happiness

Updated: Jun 12, 2019

"I'm learning to love myself. It's the hardest thing I've ever done." - Unknown



I have struggled for years with a low self - esteem, I disliked my body, compared myself to others and was that girl back in school who cried in the bathroom during lunch break.

I focused more on the negatives than the positives in my life. Fast-forward ten years later,

I have now discovered a few ways to enjoy my life as "Lana" and love myself a little more.

Of course i have an amazing man in my life who supports and loves me, he tells me everyday that i am the prettiest girl in the world and knowing me is proof God exists.

Self - love is an ongoing journey that requires support, as a Wife and Mom i am constantly pouring out of my cup to fill my husband and child's life with love and happiness.

However i am also human and need a little me time, self love.



I wanted a little more than me time, i wanted happiness from within to shine out of me.

As a Wife and Mom, work never ends, it doesn't matter if you are a stay at home Mom or working Mom, our work never ends. I feel like i am juggling glass balls most days with the eat, work, no sleep repeat kind of life and taking a moment out of this busy life to do something for me, was the best thing i ever did.



Recently i embarked on a #SAMomSelfLoveJourney with a group of beautiful South African Mom's i am proud to call my #MomTribe. What i love about the plan is that it involved fifteen inexpensive ways to practice self - love into my life with three main focus areas.



Your mind is a power thing, when you fill it with positive thoughts, your life will start to change. I am a natural over thinker, negative thoughts mostly about myself, so i tackled my first challenge and wrote a love letter to myself, i took the time to think about each positive word that best described me and placed it in my journal. As a working mama i fly out for meetings and training in Johannesburg and while on board the flight, i made a list of ten things i am grateful for, simple things that made my heart smile, like my family, coffee, donuts, a home and my mom tribe. Later that week i read my favourite book, Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, i have loved that book from my childhood and lastly i had no time to create a beautiful vision board, so i took the afternoon off work, bought myself a bunch of flowers and had a nap before picking up Keston from Play School.



To me beauty is about being comfortable in your own skin, i recently went on a mini vacation with my family and managed to wear a sexy one piece, it took a lot for me to put it on and not worry about my big boobs and thick thighs while taking a swim, i totally enjoyed the moment and can't wait to wear it again. Your body isn't a rubbish bin, eat like you love your body, each morning i blend a green veggie smoothie sometimes two! i pack my own lunch that is mostly eggs, nuts, a smoothie on the go or a wholewheat grilled chicken sandwich topped with fresh green lettuce, cucumber and carrots. I also enjoy a home cooked dinner once a week, a stir fry or roast chicken and lemon. Oh and favourite thing to do when the kids are asleep, i am including my Husband here :) i take a soothing bubble bath.

I celebrated my twenty-eighth birthday by taking a hike in nature with my family,

it was simply the best to appreciate something so beautiful, free and not be a taker.



I am working on falling in love with the person in the mirror, who has been through so much, but is still standing. I have started to enjoy a bit of makeup that enhances my beauty.

I watch YouTube makeup tutorials for beginners to learn how to apply it best,

i created a clean space at home for me to exercise, meditate and declare positive affirmations about myself, i rise early in the morning to pray and begin my day.

If i am exhausted from a late night with Keston, i push the snooze button when my alarm rings and enjoy some sleep. I am not afraid to unplug for a day from social media, try it, i dare you as it is so good for the soul. I love spending time with people that feel like sunshine, Tara and i enjoy coffee and breakfast dates, she is a kind hearted and beautiful

young lady that inspires me.




If you are waiting for life to be perfect, then you will probably wait forever.

Live your best life now, take time out of the everyday rush and book a nail appointment.

I enjoy a professional hair treatment and blow wave, a little beauty treatment always

uplifts me. Saturdays are the best in our home, we snuggle in the morning, Mr Hubster

makes us coffee with honey and brings a box of our favourite cookies, to enjoy together.

Even after a Friday night shift at work, he will still come home with Wild Bean coffee and muffins. Simple pleasures that bring joy to my life.



I love my family, good food and sharing my journey with the hope to inspire and help another person. Life will always be busy, it is best to take a moment for yourself to relax

and enjoy petite moments that enhance happiness. My Sister and Brother are simply the best, i try do something special with them once a month, they help me with Keston and

keep him entertained while i shop or eat a meal out. I am so grateful to have an amazing support system. I do feel alone at times when Mr Hubster is working twelve hour shifts six days a week, i have sulked about it and that got me nowhere, i had to learn to be the help-meet of my husband, he works hard to provide for our family.



The #SAMomSelfLoveJourney has allowed me to appreciate the simple things in life and take time out for myself, i was born real not perfect and that took me a long time to accept.

You are welcome to enjoy the below plan, i simply found it on Pinterest and keep it on my phone just encase i need a reminder.



Follow our #SAMomSelfLoveJourney to connect with my amazing #MomTribe

Gina from @SunshineAndGiggles blog has become my best friend in a short period of time.

Her love for people, parenting and good food shines through her blog posts, she is one stunning Mom with a beautiful family. Share your self-love journey with me, i would love to hear all about it.


Until next time, Love & Blessings

Lana T

73 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page