top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLana Tillack

Bump Ahead!

Updated: Aug 23, 2018

After the loss of Mr husband's dad, we stopped our contraceptive to ready my body for possible pregnancy in the new year (2017) we had come to realize that life is too short for delays. Things seemed to be good with our career development, new home and our overseas holiday shortly coming up. I would go before the Lord first thing in the morning and pray for my little family (future). I cried my heart out and prayed for a Son, I used Hannah prayer from the Bible and simply believed God that before the end of 2016 I will be pregnant.



My sunrise shoot 36 Weeks Pregnant! :)

Blue cake, no thanks I drove straight to my Doctor and requested a blood test, during this time I had not called Mr husband as I spent a fortune on home preggy tests that always displayed a miserable negative across the past month of October 2016, so I wanted solid proof due to past disappointment and yes I know I was being dramatic wanting results after a month of waiting. I completed the blood test and headed back to work but still felt sick.

I waited anxiously for the results SMS notification that was promised to be delivered by lunch time.



DIY surprise creation for Mr Husband (Daddy-to-be)


Best lunch ever because It was confirmed by my doctor that I was indeed pregnant. I went off to my favorite store Everlastings and purchased balloons, cardboard and some DIY creative stuff to put together Mr husband's daddy - to be announcement. I then wrapped up my work by 15:00 PM to head home and planted the little bundle with two positive home preggy tests that I did for fun after seeing so many negative ones I just wanted a positive one for the moment. I then left to fetch my friend Jamie and while traveling I received his tearful heartfelt call once he got home, he already knew I was pregnant when I missed my period a week ago but I was not convinced because of all the negative tests.


Adventure with my little people :) I had no idea I was already preg:)

Once I got home we chatted about the pregnancy arriving before our official holiday overseas and the precautions we would need to take to ensure baby and I stayed safe.

The only other person I had told was my cousin in the Cape and my friend Kirsten Paul.

We left the grandparents out so they do not stress as I was only 5 weeks pregnant.

We changed our diet immediately, preggy friendly grocery shopping was a blast that evening and we topped up my prenatal vitamins and water stock in the house, yes we buy bottled water as we do not have a filtered water tap in the house as yet.


12 Weeks Preg :) I could still wear my heels!


With a growing bump ahead and enjoying an easy last two weeks of our time in Durban, SA

we still kept our pregnancy to ourselves besides the few that knew and decided to do a preggy reveal after our overseas trip. A few tips and listing I will share below about DIY preggy announcement for daddy-to-be and my favorite preggy groceries to help mom - to -be early into the pregnancy journey. Updates will be at the bottom.



Much Love & Blessings

Lana T xxx




My Favorite Preggy Groceries

  • Lemon Juice (Mixing)

  • Ginger Cookies

  • Eggs (Well-cooked is fine)

  • Rye Bread

  • Cheddar Cheese

  • Yogurt Double Cream Greek (Plain)

  • Dark Chocolate

  • Lays (Black Pepper)

  • Sal-ti Cracks (Black Pepper)

  • Fresh fruit

  • Chicken (Grilled)

  • Mushrooms

  • Tomatoes (My fav fruit)

  • Butternut

  • Green-beans

  • Bubblegum Milkshake (Treat)

  • Vital Pre & Postnatal Vitamin

  • Water

  • Nuts & Seeds

  • Jungle Oats

  • Muesli


DIY Creation

  • Pinterest :) (Search some ideas)

  • Choose a theme and design

  • Make a list of everything you need

  • Everlastings & Crazy Store (Stocks good DIY material store)

  • Choose an idea based on your partner personality

  • Make it personal (Add a few personal notes / fun features to your announcement)

  • Balloons on a string

  • Small personal note

  • Home preggy positive test

  • Select neutral fun colors for your announcement! plenty time for pink or blue later into the pregnancy.

  • If DIY is not for you head down to your favorite store and purchase a white baby romper, pop that in a bag and leave for your partner with a personal note or quote.

Few Updates!

  1. Durban Christian Centre South is our family church, join us at our Bluff Campus 08:00 AM or at our Wentworth Campus 09:00 AM every Sunday for a powerful service.

  2. My online store will be launching soon, please visit my blog shop page for more details.

  3. Feel at ease to drop me an e-mail.

  4. Let's be friends kindly subscribe to my site.

42 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page