top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLana Tillack

Harper Rose Birth Story

Updated: Apr 15, 2020

Our beautiful little girl was born on World Wildlife Day, 3 March 2020



It all started on the Friday, 28 February 2020 when i felt sharp labor pains.

I called Nick around 06:00 AM and suggested that he comes home from work, (Night Shift)

while i get Keston ready for school and notify the grandparents. Once Nick arrived at home, the pain had stopped and i was able to walk around as if nothing had happened, so we continued to relax and enjoy having this time to ourselves.



Monday, 2 March 2020, i felt mild contractions and was now exhausted of being pregnant and excited to finally meet our beautiful little girl. Nick and i left for the hospital straight after dropping Keston off at school around 07:00 AM. Once we arrived at the hospital, it was confirmed by a nursing sister that i am indeed in labor, since Friday, 28 February 2020 and contracting every ten minutes. The gynecologist who also delivered Keston for us confirmed that Baby Girl is sitting far too high and has not dropped into the birth canal, making it difficult for her to induce me and have a natural delivery, she sent me home and asked me to return the next day, hoping Baby girl would have dropped.



I had been more than 30 hours in labor, contracting every 10 minutes with no change for Baby Girl to drop into the birth canal, we were given the option to wait longer, however that came with a potential risk of her heart rate dropping and loosing her. Honestly, we were not prepared to wait any longer and risk our little girl life, we made the decision as parents who only want, what is best and safe, so we agreed to proceed with a C - Section delivery.



A C- Section delivery is not the easy option to deliver a baby, it is major abdominal surgery that requires attention to detail preparation before and after surgery.

After the documentation was completed, our C - Section was scheduled in the late afternoon, giving Nick time to run around and get a few things sorted before the surgery.

I rested in the maternity ward bed, scrolling through my Instagram feed and updating my friends via my Insta stories. I was instructed to not eat anything and that i would be given something later.



Nick returned to the hospital on time, i was prepared for surgery and wheeled down to theater, thankful to have had Nick by my side, he was given a set of scrubs to wear which made him so excited. I felt a little nervous as this would be my first C - Section! Keston was a natural, smooth delivery. Pleasantly greeted and well briefed on the procedure by the theater staff who assisted me with the preparation inside the surgery room and called Nick in once the anesthetist and gynecologist had completed all necessary medical steps with me.



I felt a little nauseous as the epidural took effect in my body, it subsided in two minutes and that was due to having a light breakfast unknown to me that i would of had major abdominal surgery later that day. The screen was up and Nick sat beside me, holding my one hand.

For some strange reason, i started to get emotional, i asked Nick if Keston's okay and told him that "I love all three of them" as if i was going away and never returning.

That is the thing with an epidural, you are highly medicated and welcoming a baby into the world, it was only natural to feel so many emotions at once!


I was still able to communicate well, while feeling the tugging on my lower body and finally i heard the cry in 7 minutes of my beautiful little girl, Harper Rose!



Nick, right beside me had the biggest smile on his face! he told me that he always wanted a daughter and may she grow up to have many of my qualities. While Harper Rose was being delivered, she had already past her first stool, (Meconiun) which is toxic and had to be suctioned out of her mouth! This confirmed that Harper Rose had possibly been distressed and it was a good decision to have her then delivered via C - Section.



We got to do the famous family photo in the surgery room, a little bit of skin to skin and then it was time for Nick to leave with our daughter, to the nursery, while the final surgery is completed, now alone, i waited while the surgical staff kept me awake with their comments about Harper Rose, everyone congratulated me and said that i was a brave mom, who did well for her first major surgery. As i was wheeled out of the surgery room, into a waiting room, i was given hot blankets as i felt cold and shivered for a few minutes.



Later i was wheeled into the maternity ward with Nick beside me, i was given some ice - cubes to chew and apple juice to drink. I felt the epidural slowly leave my body, I was allowed to rest before meeting my little girl again, which was a pleasure.

After my small recovery rest period, Harper Rose was given to me and i started to nurse, she latched straight away and began suckling.



I felt at ease now that our little girl was earth side, knowing she is safe and healthy was all that mattered. Nick and i prayed about Keston meeting his little Sister the next day and that went pleasantly well, Keston could not stop touching his little Sister and kissing her.

These precious moments, melted my heart.



Modern day C - Section do not require a mother to stay very long in the hospital, 03:00 AM following my surgery, i was encouraged to get up, walk around and have my first bath! This was delightful although my walk was slow and a little bit painful, nurses commented on how well i still carried myself after major abdominal surgery. Day Two, i was confirmed medically fit to be discharged from the hospital by the gynecologist and Harper Rose had no medical complications that required us to stay longer. However, Nick suggested i stay an extra day to make sure nothing is wrong as Harper Rose developed a skin rash that turned out to be normal and no concern.



The very next day, we were discharged from the hospital, Harper Rose wore the most cutest matching swaddle and turban set, that had every nurse commenting on it.

I am thankful for a successful second pregnancy and delivery of Baby Girl, my prayer is that God will give me more patience, gentleness and care as a mom of two as he has already stretched my heart to love two beautiful kids.



Swaddle Set @Monkey_Strudel

Infant Chair @MaxiCosi

Stroller @AlfaKidsOfficial


Until Next Time


Love & Blessings

Lana T

113 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page