top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLana Tillack

Keston Luke Birth Story

Updated: Aug 23, 2018

As a first time mom, i did not know what birth to expect for my unborn child.

After the drive to the hospital, i refused to be pushed in a wheel chair, i walked to the labor ward from the parking lot holding onto Mr hubster.



Yes i am one of those women that like's to do things her way or no way, Mr hubster is so used to me fussing about being perfect that he leaves me to fall flat on my face before God.

I entered the labor ward around 14:30PM, i got dressed in a labor gown, my gut was cleaned and took deep breaths with each painful contraction. We agreed to no epidural if i dilated to give a natural birth, so the wait was on. An internal examination was done (1st) to check how far i have dilated, 2CM.



The contractions were painful, i took deep breaths for each one that hit me, i sat back and took my mind off the pain by listening to Mr hubster's jokes about our pregnancy and the funny moments together, after the first hour another internal examination was done (2nd) i had dilated to 4CM, which was rather speedy. The nurse asked me, if i was sure about no epidural, as once we cross the 6CM dilation, there will be no administration of the drug.



"No thank you" i said, "i am fine to proceed without the juice", I continued to dilate and walked to the bathroom, came back to my room, still complained about a few pains and then in a total moment i got hit with painful contractions that felt like my body was being torn apart, i screamed in pain, rolled on the bed, i had to be held down by Mr hubster and told to calm down for the sake of the baby. I was now at the point were i did not care about being Wonder Woman, i needed the epidural immediately before i reach the the dilatation cutoff.



The nurse was very strict and told me i best hope there is an available anesthetist, who can assist me speedily as i was dillating very quick for a first time mum-to-be.

God was with us, an anesthetist had just finished up from theater and heard about my situation, he rushed straight through to my room and ordered the nurses to assist him immediately with various tools and aids to reduce my pain. I recall him shouting at the nursing staff to hurry up, he was very efficient and persistent when the needle was a challenge. The epidural refused to stay in me, it simply kept falling out, at last on the third attempt he tried one more time in the side than straight into my spine, 100% effective and no pain.


Thereafter labor was a breeze, each hour towards the birth, a nurse would check how far i dilated, and would give me the thumbs up, all was well and good to go. Mr hubster managed to text our closest friends and family about our unexpected early labor, the special moment for me was a brief call from my dad, the man that raised me from age nine without his wife, my mom. I missed her during this moment, i cried a bit, thinking about her and wished God spared her life, Mr hubster wiped my tears and told me that she is super proud of me already.

We continued to pass time by watching a few cartoons on the I-Pad and playing some relaxing music, the nurses were happy with a calm mom-to-be and told me any moment now my gynecologist will be summoned once i reach 8CM. To keep my sugar levels stable, i was given a liqui-fruit juice and jelly.


My gynecologits arrived and prepped for the delivery of my child, she placed scrubs and cloths over me and assured me only she will be at the baby exit, she reminded me to be calm and listen to her instruction, the epidural was turned down for me to push with each contraction. My midwife at my leftside assisted with adding pressure on my stomach and Mr hubster stood on my rightside holding my hand, as mentioned with each contraction i was given a count up until three to push as hard and long as i could.


19:00 PM, 10CM dilated, I was given three practice runs before the big official push baby out, during the practice i felt pressured, fearful and so i cried, Mr hubster assured me saying "Babe you can do this, you are almost there." i remember giving my all during the final push and yes i felt everything, the baby left my womb and out into the world.


He came out without a cry until placed on my chest, skin to skin then he cried out.

Mr hubster and i embraced the moment together while i held our little boy, it was then that i said hello Keston, Mr hubster was like what? wait? Dr is it a boy, "oh yes" she said it is a boy.

I knew that the whole time, there was no doubt in mind, within five minutes of holding my precious little boy with a mop full of black hair, my gynecologist advised me that my placenta had not come out like expected.


Mr hubster took our newborn aside, while Dr did her best to manually remove the placenta in the labor ward, she tried making me sneeze and cough, still nothing. Sadly after a smooth birth, i was prepared for theater, a new anesthetist was called in to assist my gynecologist and Mr hubster was informed he could not come in with me, this broke his heart, i was so exhausted and asked him if Keston was safe, he assured me baby was fine, it's just me that needs to be taken care of a little extra.


The anesthetist came past to greet me, he mentioned he saw about five people standing outside the ward and knows that must be my family, he mentioned i have an incredible husband with such a pleasant nature, i manged to smile and asked him "Dr will i be okay?" he assured me certainly, just these things happen and he is there to assist if an operation needs to take place.


I was placed on the operating table, my gynecologist walked in and began adding pressure on my stomach / uterus, she refused to give up and insisted she will do her all before operating, as my birth went so smooth and she is so proud of me. I love her, truly i do the sacrifices she makes to assist delivering babies into the world safely, melts my heart.

After three hours of continuous pressure, the placenta came out, what a relief but also by now i was exhausted and freezing cold.


I was wrapped up and wheeled from theater where the theater staff had to pause the move as my emotional family approached them to at least touch me, i could hear their voices but could not open my eyes, i was exhausted from both the birth and after birth, i could not even meet my Son as yet, the epidural started to decrease and my body went into a cold state of shaking and shivering, hot blankets were applied to my body and Mr hubster was able to see me, he came through with an aunt who assured me baby is well and that they thank God i am safe.


Mr hubster, emotionally explained to me that he could not give our Son his first bath without me, he managed to take some pictures and sent them to my phone, a bulk SMS was sent out to all our friends and family about the arrival of Keston. Mr hubster had to leave but assured me he will be back in the morning, midnight i managed to wake up, clean myself with assistance, eat a snack and enjoyed a glass of fresh apple juice.


3:00AM i officially met my Son, i just remember saying "hi, baby" all the time, so much love in my heart for this little boy. I started to nurse straight away, such a good boy, he latched on and was fed with colostrum, a tiny bit satisfied him and slowly i introduced his pacifier.

A sweet moment of baby and i together in the AM that i captured and sent to Mr hubster, he was awake and so pleased to know that i am doing okay.


Oh the pain, although i was a bit uncomfortable, pale from loss of blood due to the retained placenta, i managed to walk around the next day, i took a warm salt sit bath with the assistance of Mr hubster and visited Keston in the nursery, my dad visited us the next day along with a few other close family and dear friends. We were showered with love, flowers and gifts for little Keston, our hearts were full and so grateful to God for his grace and faithfulness.


I do hope you enjoyed the details on Keston Luke birth story, updates below.

Much Love & Blessings Lana T xxx

Few Updates!

  1. Durban Christian Centre South is our family church, join us at our Bluff Campus 08:00 AM or at our Wentworth Campus 09:00 AM every Sunday for a powerful service.

  2. Visit my online store Shop Lana T for hot women's fashion, be sure to check out our latest Winter range, while stocks last. Spring range launching soon.

  3. Feel at ease to drop me an email.

  4. Let's be friends kindly subscribe to my site.

92 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page