top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLana Tillack

Less Scrolling More Living

Updated: Sep 16, 2019

I took a break from social media to reconnect with life and those close to me.

Ever felt drained after scrolling through your social media accounts.



I would wake up at 02:00am to catch up with my likes, comments and messages.

Social media has been both a positive and negative in my life, I have made some amazing connections online with South African Moms, brands and influencers.

When I would go through a situation, I was able to reach out to an online social media friend, share my struggle and get a response later on that would somewhat help me, especially if the friend was able to relate to the situation.


Photography is a hobby of mine and I enjoy capturing special moments, beautiful imagery and more. However, I was becoming obsessed about taking curated photos, I was hard on myself when the photos did not come out the way I had planned and found myself in a dark space comparing myself to others online.


They say time is precious, spend it wisely! There was no switch off for me, I was constantly plugged in to social media, during conversations people around me found it difficult to connect with me as I would tell them one moment, I am just replying to a comment or doing a live video to cover a topic that will address some questions they asked me.



There isn’t anything wrong with sharing or being on social media, long as it does not consume your life. My social media management was terrible, I would wake up in the morning, greet my phone first to check social media accounts and just before my eyes close to sleep at night. I hardly picked up a book or even a magazine to read as I had lots to scroll through online.


As mentioned previously, those close to me found it difficult to engage with me as I allowed myself to be consumed by social media, I would take pictures at a restaurant of the food, people and drinks shared. Tag the people in a post yet hardly spoke with them.


As an #InstaMom blogger I share on my journey as a mom, snap pictures of my child and now that he is two, I had barely spent any quality time with him, to understand how he reacts to me taking his pictures or what exactly he enjoys playing with.



I had been wrapped up in the life of others, comparing my progress and success, I often wondered if people I followed on social media went through trials and experienced self – doubt like I did and started to become or feel a little bit like a hater.

I hated that I could not live up to my blog name, “Pretty Brave Mom” I was upset that some of the amazing accounts I followed on social media, hardly spoke of their struggles and managed their social media in a professional and positive way.


I could not keep up to the likes, comments and shares any more, I was unable to live up to the lifestyle expected of me. Mind problems! and so, I avoided a massive online meltdown and took a break off social media for seven days!



Did I miss being online, in the beginning yes, I was tempted to make the break shorter however I got to reconnect and build a stronger bond with Nick and Keston.

Nick would often tease me and call me a socialite while I would roll my eyes and say I am engaging and will not be long, Keston is an independent little man who enjoys playing with his toys alone however occasionally he will come and take my hand, tell me to sit and watch him play.



Usually I would play on my phone, answer emails while he plays but now, I sat down and would watch him play with his little toys, blocks and puzzles. All so well as a toddler, enjoy the moment when he smiled at me because of my quick reaction to his successful play or book read. Each day my heart was filled with something new, I was pleased to notice that Keston slept better and easier than before, perhaps because I gave him my full attention.


It had been a challenge for me to split my focus when I worked on a post, engagement or anything else because I felt whatever else can wait, I am almost done.

This is not to say I ignored my child or his personal well-being, the problem was is that I would attend to my child with my phone in my hand and did not think of how this affected him and my husband.



Honestly, I have a love hate relationship with social media, I now agree that regular breaks are necessary and coffee with a friend is life! Kirsten and I met for breakfast on Woman’s day.

We only took pictures and spent our time together off social media, eating delicious eggs – benedict and drank amazing coffee, catching up with Kirsten made me feel so much better during the break as my mind was cleansed.


A bit about my stunning friend Kirsten Paul, she is married to an artist, mom of two beautiful kids, holds a Marketing (Hons) degree and works as a Brand Manager for a world class international organization, co - founder and owner of Candy Apple Apparel (Pty) Ltd a South African mommy business. We are best friends since 2009 :)

@KirstenPaul

@CandyAppleApparel


Do you regularly take breaks from social media?



Until Next Time, Love & Blessings

Lana T



18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page