top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLana Tillack

Little Safari Nursery

Updated: Aug 23, 2018

Designing a unisex nursery can be exciting and challenging, especially when two different personalities clash. Mr husband is bold, daring and believes less is more. I am creative, simple and enjoy searching ideas on Pinterest. I am specific and do not like mixing themes, somehow one learns to compromise to accommodate the other spouse feelings and ideas.

There is a rule in our home, we do everything together as a team, we turned our store room into a little nursery in less than 24 hour.


Graco Travel System & Blocks

Once I turned seven months pregnant, we agreed on a safari theme. One of the Friday evenings we painted the room light but a bright shade of green, I am not sure if that makes sense but the pictures will show. Mr hubster is a fussy and neat painter so I had to leave the house while he painted the room and later I assisted with the application of the wall art and cleaning of the floor. It is always best to get the messy bits sorted first, then the fun can begin.


Baby Bouncer & Play Gym

Furniture, linen and accesorie shopping yay! I loved every bit of prepping for my baby's arrival. We set a budget accross six months to pay for our goodies and although we expereineced some hidden costs that cannot be planned for, we apperciated the jump start anyway and always encourage an expecting couple to budget towards baby things.

Linen theme, grey with baby bears, yes I know what a mix to have in my safri theme however one has to compromise and settle especially when there is a personality clash. We purchased the grey baby bear material for everything linen wise in the room and arranged my Grandmother to sew beautiful matching linen.



A white sleigh cot, after a simple wipe down and fresh coat of led free paint, this second hand find was perfect. Baby set of drawers was delivered from the furniture store along with our breastfeeding sofa, chair. We set up the room to see what more we could add and moved furniture around like you will not belive. Finally we decieded to add some white frames with our maternity shoot pictures and some boxes with cute baby decor. Soft toys and a few baby toys was certainly on my list, I did my best to avoid pinks or blues seeing we did not know the sex of our baby yet. Mr hubster was set on not knowing the sex of baby until birth, I on the other hand wanted to know.



We arranged the little nursery as best as we could on our own, as pregnant as I was it did not stop me from lightly assisting with moving things around and making our little baby nest sweeter and welcoming. We also did some travel system hunting and found the Graco brand to be our preferred choice, the pack includes a car seat birth to twelve months depending on baby's growth, a pram and accessories, If you are on Discovery medical aid plan I encourage you to register for the baby / pregnancy rewards benefit so you can receive a gift box from Toys R Us with discount cards for various stores to make your baby shopping cost effective.


Once our baby arrived the nursery has had three major changes yet we still have managed to stick to the original theme and not break the bank, it is a never ending situation when it comes to decor and improving your home. I am constantly searching for better and love flash sales on linen and red label marked down items.




Nesting can be wonderful, a month before baby's arrival I had a bursting amount of energy and was able to work, shop and spring clean my home a couple of times. I actually enjoyed all the stocking up and prepping for baby's arrival, I also got spoiled with two baby showers, more about that in my next blog.


I do hope you enjoyed the details on little safari nursery.

Tips and updates below.

Much Love & Blessings Lana T xxx

*Our Unisex Nursery Tips*

  • Sleigh Cot - Second hand find

  • Graco Travel System - Toys R Us

  • Frames - MRP Home

  • Boxes - MRP Home

  • Linen - My Grandmother

  • Material - Waste Center

  • Soft Toys - Checkers & MRP Home

  • Sensory Toys - Baby City

  • Blanket - Woolworths

  • Breastfeeding Sofa - Value Lounge

  • Drawers - The Furniture Factory Shop

  • Mosquito Net - MRP Home (Gift)

  • Bouncer & Gym - Takealot

  • Blocks - Takealot

  • Wall Art - Made by Sam

  • Wall Stickers - Ebay

Few Updates!

  1. Durban Christian Centre South is our family church, join us at our Bluff Campus 08:00 AM or at our Wentworth Campus 09:00 AM every Sunday for a powerful service.

  2. My online store Shop Lana T has an exciting new range coming soon and a few awesome updates! be sure to check it out.

  3. Feel at ease to drop me an email.

  4. Let's be friends kindly subscribe to my site.

32 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page