top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLana Tillack

My Green Smoothie!

Updated: Aug 23, 2018

I often get asked by my friends, colleagues or people hey! Rox / Lana what the heck are you drinking? Is it good ? why is it green and why are you drinking that?.......

After the birth of my Son, Keston Luke I changed my lifestyle and eating habits as

I was constantly feeding off unhealthy foods resulting in a terrible low energy me.

Heather Lindsey an amazing women of God blogged on her very own green smoothie recipe and encouraged me to give this a go with the hope to improve my overall well-being, energy level, veggie intake, vitamins, nutrition, loose weight, improve my skin and hair.


I started in December 2017 blending and making my green smoothie using Heather's recipe and a few others I had googled but did not really enjoy them, so thereafter I created my own green smoothie recipe and absolutely enjoyed and loved the taste.

I purchased online and read the amazing Kym Snyder book "The Beauty Detox Foods."

What a resourceful book that I am now on a new journey of discovering the power in smart foods that cleanse and beautify a woman from the inside out, amazing hey.


Planning my ingredient shopping for smoothies and meals is super easy, I do meal prepping Saturday before bed time and purchase all my goodies Sunday after Lunch in the late afternoon. I shop mostly at Woolworths or Pick n Pay as I find their fresh produce lasts longer. Oxford Fresh Market is also one of my good go to stores as they open super early everyday so if my two boys (Mr Hubster & Keston) are sleeping in on a Sunday morning, I dash to the store quick for all my goodies and know I am sorted for the fresh week ahead.


I cut up and freeze my smoothie ingredients in a zip-lock bag - part of my meal prep routine Sunday night before bed.


My Green Smoothie Recipe Ingredients

One organic Granny Smith Apple

One organic Pear

One organic Banana (Frozen)

1/4 Cup Mango (Frozen)

1/4 Cup Peaches (Frozen)

1/2 Cup Spinach Leaves

1/2 Cup Kale Leaves

1 Cup Ice - Cold Water

1/2 Juice of one Lemon

Mixed Seeds

Mint Herbs


Prep is super quick and simple, I blend my ice - water , mixed seeds and green leaves (spinach & kale) first for 60 seconds. Add my apple and pear coarsely chopped for 20 seconds, drop in the lemon juice, frozen pieces (peaches, mango & banana) and blend for another 20 seconds then finally pour into my shaker / glass and add mint for a dash of fresh topping taste.


It has taken a good few weeks for my taste buds to change and enjoy my fantastic green smoothie that i have now mastered and do not need my guideline recipe.

Hey! I even got Mr Hubster to enjoy a glass a day with me.

After a month I lost a drastic amount of weight, increased energy levels, a beautiful glow that people mistaken for the pregnancy glow - no not at the moment peeps and also my hair is super healthy, no more brittle bits.


Smart food shopping is very cost effective for me because I no longer spend unnecessary money on chocolates, crisps and bubble-gum weekly.


Give the green smoothie a go :)

Find out what works best for you and stick to it daily!

My Green Smoothie Mix

I will be sharing a few of my favorite smoothie recipes in an all new blog post next time :)


Much Love & Blessings

Lana Tillack xxx


Updates!

  1. Durban Christian Centre South is our family church, join us at our Bluff Campus 08:00 AM or at our Wentworth Campus 09:00 AM every Sunday for a powerful service. https://www.durbanchristiancentre.co.za

  2. My online store will be launching soon, please visit my blog shop page for more details.

  3. Feel at ease to drop me an e-mail (prettybravemom@gmail.com).

  4. Let's be friends kindly subscribe to my site.



50 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page