top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLana Tillack

My Postpartum Journey

Updated: Apr 5, 2019


Hello Beautiful! Let me get straight into sharing my slow road to accepting my mom bod, embracing the change and loving life as a wife and mom.



The moment you become a mom (birth of life), body is the last thing on your mind, it’s tears of joy and starring at this precious little babe, asleep in your arms or laying on your breast. The moment is blissful, and I certainly wished mine had lasted longer, as many of you know in my birth story, I shared the horrific experience of being rushed to theater, moments after my Son was born.


A day later, I stood in the hospital bathroom, ready to take my first postpartum bath, I walked over to the mirror and starred at my reflection. I saw a Women with a round bruised stomach as if no birth had taken place, engorged breasts, thick thighs and stretch marks on the buttocks.


I did not take into account, that my body had just given birth to the most precious little gift, a few weeks later I found myself exhausted from the late nights and early mornings, I ate anything I could get my hands on in our house, I would order take out on the lazy days and ate double my usual portion if I cooked anything. Hubby tried to support an arrogant me, he suggested I start eating a balanced diet with plenty fish, chicken and veggies again.



I argued that I will manage to lose the weight with breastfeeding, not considering the nine months stretch my body had been through while growing a little babe. I disliked the gym sessions as it depended on my little babe mood and routine. I often got summoned by V-Club to collect my fussy child, so I felt the one-hour effort to get out the house, drive to the gym and work on my body, a complete waste. Oh boy! Was I wrong. There is a lovely quote, “A little progress each day, adds up to big results.”


Once my eating habits grew out of control, I could no longer fit into my regular clothes, sports leggings and an over-sized T-shirt was my everyday outfit, oh and the mandatory mom bun, hair style. As I stared at my reflection in the mirror I noticed that my weight had increased drastically, crazy thoughts filled my mind, not being pretty or good enough as I could not accept this new life of mine to juggle. Negative feelings controlled my being, I was a sulking wife and emotional mom, not a very pretty sight at all. Apart from the few gym sessions or walks around the block that hubby encouraged me to attempt, I had invested no self-love or self-care; my heart was unhappy. It must have hit me like a ton of bricks, how could I look after a little life, wife and be the best lady I can while living a negative lifestyle.


Yes, I am wife, mommy but a lady too, pregnancy did not stop me from living a clean lifestyle despite a few challenges and yes post-partum is not easy as each mom will have a different journey to walk and share. Hubby encouraged me, that life after a baby is the beginning of a new “me” and that I needed to learn to embrace the change and work on my mom bod, he assured me that he loves the fact that I have changed to birth our child, he explained that my self-worth comes from God alone and that I need to look to Him, the Greater One for hope, guidance and faith.


My official journey to love my body postpartum started when Keston turned six months. Hubby assisted me with a new balanced diet that included lots of green veggies, grilled chicken, fish and eggs. I drank a ton of water to flush out all the toxins and waste in my body daily and only once or twice a week, I would indulge in a chocolate treat or milkshake! Exercise took place three times a week if i was lucky then four. Ad hoc situations occurred where I was unable to attend a gym session due to a fussy babe or hospital situation or travelling out for work so I found it best to order the healthiest meal option available.



What disrupts my healthy lifestyle the most is unrealistic meal plans, expensive ingredients or supplements, special occasions or colleagues ordering take out in the office! So I needed a bit of help with more options and advice, who better than from a lady who is a wife and mom yet still rocks! Rush Tush, I met this amazing fitness guru on social media – Instagram, purchased one of her Glow Guides #GlowCleanse a full easy meal plan, with tips and tricks from Rush herself. There is a variety of affordable healthy snack and meal options to choose from. Depending on the occasion I prepare my food and take it with or select something close to my meal plan. I will soon be doing a full blog post on @RushTush #GlowCleanse plan.


What about a life outside the home? Yes, a lady needs a break from her everyday wife and mom duties and Hubby agrees although he feels sad to let me go, so do I when it is his turn for time out. I get dressed up, go for a coffee alone or meet a friend for lunch. Life is too short to get wrapped up in the business of it, yes, I do get busy and miss a hair appointment or coffee date all because I am exhausted from work, a sick babe or a rough month and no budget for self-love.



In total I have no lost 16,5kgs since 1st of January 2018, I have learned to embrace change with love in my heart and peace in my soul, Yes I have stretched marks on my buttocks but a rocking shaped buttocks and yes my breasts are no longer firm but I was able to breastfeed on demand for five whole months and lastly my thighs are now shaped out a little larger than before, but in a pair of leggings or shorts Hubby thinks it is fabulously sexy! No matter how hard I work out or eat my greens I seem to stay a Medium, no longer a Small and that is just fine.



I am now a Woman, Wife and Mom! Not a little girl that Hubby met back in 2009, when I think about my life back then! Yes, I was skinny but not always happy. I am happier now with my life after growing. Take the time out to do something for yourself today, it can simply be for an hour or two.


Recently i joined a group of South African Mom's in a photo loop #SAMomBodPhotoLoop to celebrate the beauty of our mom bods, all shapes and sizes! just to be comfortable in our own skin. Nicole from @raisingksquared has been my friend for almost a year on the gram, I love her positive energy and beautiful personality, some amazing behind the scene pictures from our individual shoots.


Photo Credits: CJ Photography & MooisteMooi Photography


Until next time, Love & Blessings

Lana T

125 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page