top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLana Tillack

Oh Baby! Gender Reveal

Updated: Jan 2, 2020

We always said, for our Baby Tillack #2 we would plan a gender reveal, little garden tea party with a light lunch for our close friends and family.



I was over joyed at 20 weeks pregnant, when Baby Tillack #2 showed who he/she was,

I politely asked the gynecologist to write down the sex on a paper to hand to the baker.

Mr Husband was not present during the scan, very disappointed that i did not take him with

as he is usually present for all our pre-natal appointments. I assured him that i did not know the gender and mentioned that i am probably destined to be a #BoyMom however in my heart i felt it's a little girl as my pregnancy symptoms were all different to my first pregnancy.



Oh what a joy to plan a little gender reveal for our Baby Tillack #2, I asked Mr Husband for his thoughts on the event and we agreed that Sunday after Church around 10:00AM is the perfect day and time as we live in a very busy world, most people work six days a week, leaving them with very little opportunity to attend important family occasions.

We chose our family home, to host the event as it has a beautiful garden and court yard.

A theme and colours can be tricky however i wanted something different and pretty!

So i selected an enchanted garden, fairy and elf theme with navy blue and rose gold for colours.



For the tea setting, I used minimal sweets that are commonly eaten by adults and kids in pastel shades, these included marshmallows, funny faces and speckled eggs. Preferably sweets with no wrappers to make it easy to enjoy without a fuss.



Cake is a must in my family, so i ordered a main gender reveal cake, triple layered sponge with butter icing and enchanted garden creature decals, cupcakes with frosting and fairy decals and lastly chocolate coconut lamingtons.


Yummy bakes are such a treat especially when packed as a thank you gift, Esther my amazing friend gifted us with themed vegan cookies while Kaylee my lovely Sister made the home-made fudge. This completed our tea treats.



We made and placed fresh pink breakfast punch and blueberry juice in large glass dispensers on the tables and offered tea or coffee from the kitchen.




Decor i kept to a minimal as i did not wish to go over board and break the bank on things that would be for display only or disposed later. Paper cups, plates, serviettes and wooden cutlery was all purchased from Checkers, South Africa. I was lucky enough to find the cups and plates in a soft pink and blue that fitted so well with the theme and main colours.

The glassware and platters are my collection that i purchased overtime from various stores like MRP Home and Checkers, South Africa. Table clothes and overlays i hired from the amazing Made by Sam. Helium balloons and string was purchased from The Craze Store.



Food, we agreed to serve a light lunch without the fuss of cooking ourselves, best trusted to a family caterer to prepare a delicious meal that included macaroni and cheese, lamb biryani served with dhal and carrot salad. We also have Vegan family and asked Mr Husband, Mom to prepare the food separately. Vegan meal included sugar - bean curry served with brown rice and salad.



We have a busy toddler as well as friends with kids so a jumping castle in the court yard was a highlight to keep the kids entertained. I also took a few of Keston's toys to create a kid's corner indoors encase of rain or a child that did not prefer to jump and run around outside.

Our friends with kids got so excited to sit and enjoy a meal and treat without stressing about their child/children as we had accommodated them in our event.



Just before lunch was served, we called everyone together to cut the main gender reveal cake! I asked a friend to record the entire moment and once the first slice was cut, I could not believe it! A little girl, the joy in my heart, excitement on my face and beautiful moment where Mr Husband and I embrace, we could not believe it, a little girl! We finally have our pigeon pair and all this happened while our little boy was asleep as he got a little upset and over tired. It was such a beautiful moment to share with our loved ones.


We're having a baby girl, i am so excited to get some pink rompers, blankets and roses in our home! We prayed for our little blessing and are so thankful to welcome a daughter into our family. We are a humble family that loves each other, work hard and pray together.



Always stick to your budget, make a list of the essential beverages and food you would like to serve at an event. Event planning is something i enjoy as a hobby, i am creative and enjoy using different suppliers and trusted ones. If given a large budget with assistance i go all out and call my #DreamTeam for the day. This event was relaxed and family orientated, I did not want the stress of having too many people over. I am thankful to our close friends and family that joined us to celebrate our baby girls gender reveal. Teepee by @totemteepee



Standing on the left is my beautiful friend Gina of @SunshineAndGigglesBlog and on my right is my amazing friend Esther.


Cake and cup cakes by the amazing Tania from @taniacakesforalloccasions

I did my own hair, make up and placed a white flower wreath on my head.

Dress by @cherrymelonmaternity


Until Next Time

Love & Blessings

Lana T



32 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page