top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLana Tillack

Oh Boy! Gender Reveal

Updated: Aug 23, 2018

Pink or Blue anything will do, Girl or Boy it really did not matter to us.

We we're too excited about a baby coming into our lives, to love and cuddle.

I love pictures, i love documenting everything and so i guessed the sex without medical confirmation and BOY! was i right.


After our 4D scan appointment, we we're asked if we would like to know the sex of our unborn child, Mr hubster answered "no it will be a surprise baby". I had all these exciting reveal ideas already pre-planned well in advance and now it would go to the possibly next kid. Still i wanted to do something especially for my husband, something different and fun.


At six weeks pregnant, Mr hubster and I spoke and guessed we are having a baby boy.

I had a feeling that God graced us with a Son to be our first born, i did not worry about the various ways my body changed to show if baby would be a girl or boy. I knew this is my Son because i went before the Lord flat on my face and cried out "God if you give me this Son, I will dedicate his life back to you." It was not long after that when i discovered our pregnancy.



CJ photography is my favourite photography team, they are creative, passionate and family orientated. They are a husband and wife team, share a daughter together and a few pets that i have grown fond of. CJ shot our wedding and since 2015 have been our trusted photography team. I spoke to Chantal about my desire to do a baby sex reveal, not medically confirmed. Her suggestion was creative and simple, a cake smash reveal shoot done by me (alone), to only be revealed after the birth of baby Tillack.


I booked a shoot, arranged a cake with cute blue and pink converse toppers, took a day off work. I got my hair done and chose my own outfit, white with a pop of blue denim, mainly because that was the only dress / top that could fit me. I left the house as if i was to go on my route to work, it' s a surprise so i could not tell Mr hubster, he was already suspicious though. He knows me too well. I guess i made it a little to obvious getting dressed and forgetting my lunch bag, which preggy lady forgets her food.



I picked up gold and blue balloons from the Crazy Store, a giant inflated blue unicorn, yes a blue unicorn - I love them and wanted to incorporate this beautiful animal into my shoot.

My cake order was delivered on time and next was my arrival to the studio. A full hour of smiles, fun and cake! I enjoyed smashing that amazing cake to enjoy the blue velvet sponge.

I will let the pictures do the talking, they are too amazing and one even has a K on my cheek!

yes we picked out two names beginning with a K for either sex.



The pictures were delivered two weeks after the birth of our Son, i was thrilled with the outcome and so was Mr hubster, he laughed about my prediction and said what if i had done a cake smash for a little girl, what would i have done with all the pink pictures. Easy one as I already figured that out a while back with my photography team.


Although this idea is really taken from Pinterest, a deal was made with CJ to use this idea as a new service offering for pregnancy studio shoots, pink or blue i was still the model mama to be and enjoyed guessing the sex and to be 100% right was a bonus, thank you God.

I love our little boy so much, i prayed over him in my womb, trusted God for a natural and safe delivery.



I do hope you enjoyed the details on our sweet little boy's gender reveal. Tips and updates below.


Much Love & Blessings Lana T xxx


*Gender Reveal Tips*

  • Pinterest - Choose an idea that is practical, different & cost effective

  • Cakes for Gender Reveal - Butter icing, minimal decor & colorful sponge

  • Be Different - Choose two different gender reveal colours appose to pink or blue

  • A Photography Studio - Best and less time consuming

  • Outdoor Photography - Beautiful, ensure you have sufficient time, insect repellent (especially if you carrying a cake) and sun screen

  • Dress Comfy - Leggings always work best when seated flat

  • Enjoy - Be creative and have fun during your reveal

  • Hair & Make-Up - Do it yourself (I wore no make-up)

  • Release Pictures - During peak social media times (It gets the exciting message out there quick to friends / family)

Lana Shoot Suppliers

  1. Cake - Tania Cakes 083 236 6682

  2. Studio - CJ Photography 074 238 8775 (WhatsApp Only)

  3. Clothing - MRP

  4. Booties - MRP

  5. Hair - Me

  6. No Make-Up

  7. Balloons & Unicorn - Crazy Store

Few Updates!

  1. Durban Christian Centre South is our family church, join us at our Bluff Campus 08:00 AM or at our Wentworth Campus 09:00 AM every Sunday for a powerful service.

  2. My online store Shop Lana T is stocked with some hot Winter fashion, be sure to check that out!

  3. Feel at ease to drop me an email.

  4. Let's be friends kindly subscribe to my site.

23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page