top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLana Tillack

Self Love - Part Two

Updated: Sep 3, 2018

I started a new lifestyle to not only benefit me but my family too, i wanted a balance with our busy life, my never ending to-do-list and healthy cooking and snack options.

I felt that i needed to smile more, embrace change with a new approach and be the best wife, mom and human i could be, instead of striving for the perfect title.


I changed my attitude, i told myself you are enough mama! you got this and God will never give you more than you can handle. I smiled and spoke with a kinder nature towards Mr hubster, we communicated better and were able to laugh about the difficult situations as parents. On my cloudy days i tried my best to see the silver lining, smile and move forward.

Long night with the kid, sure that would take the hell out of my mood, until i would pray and thank God for the little life he blessed me with, so many women are mourning the loss of a child either by miscarriage or child death, i am blessed to be a mom to a healthy little boy.


I changed my diet, i shopped only what was required to be in the house for our meals along with a few treats, i cleared my cupboard of all junk and said no more fizz drinks, juice or jelly.

I received no meal plan or training manual, everything i did was pure research and recipes handed down to me by sweet friends, finding the balance was the key to managing the new healthy lifestyle. I started off with a simple green smoothie a day, resulting in healthy skin, hair and digestive system. Breakfast would either be a bowel of oats, fruit and yogurt or a slice of wholewheat toast and scrambled eggs. Snack time i would eat a few almonds and a protein peanut butter bar. Lunch two fresh veggies and a meal replacement shake by HerbaLife. Dinner time would be a veggie stir fry, grilled chicken or fish and weekends i enjoyed a treat in take - out now and then.



Changing my attitude and diet resulted in a positive and slimmer me, after six weeks i lost 7 kg's and became a little too arrogant, thinking i am better than Mr hubster and it was then that i learned to humble myself, pray and speak kinder. He had been watching my transformation and was incredibly proud of me but felt hurt each time i ran him down for drinking a glass of sugar - free soda just because i was off the stuff. After a bit without me asking, Mr hubster joined me in the mornings for a green smoothie, he commented on the taste saying it's not as bad as people would think, seeing so much green in one glass freaks the hell out of most people, but it is so good and 100% healthy.



I changed my work out plan - i created my training schedule and work out three times a week for 45 minutes, i only pop into the gym after my baby is asleep and if he is a bit fussy i offer to stay but Mr hubster is so kind, he encourages me to go. I noticed results were much faster now that i worked out consistently three times a week, the minuite i stopped my training, i noticed how i would get out of shape easily and slip into a comfort zone of not wanting to work out. Stay on that road mama! train your body to not quit, i have fallen off the wagon many times, lazy to get going and work out my body however after a good session i feel so much better and the results are mind blowing.



Lastly i changed my hair colour and wardrobe, in total i lost 16.5 kg's after three months of finding the balance in the chaos, so some new clothes and a style upgrade was my reward. Not everyday was easy but totally worth it, some days i struggle to be on top of my game and i somehow find a plan to return home, my new lifestyle that involves meal prepping and cooking for my family. My little one gets so excited when mom or dad cooks a hearty healthy meal that he enjoys, i feel less prone to eat unhealthy treats after dinner because i am full on a wholesome and nutritious meal.



I noticed my hair improved over time, it was shiny and full of life, my skin has a radiant glow that took time to achieve as i was using the wrong skin care products that was too harsh on my face. My body and digestive system is healthy and lastly my mind is more positive.

I believe that to become a positive person one should think better, eat smarter and exercise.

Not all days do i achieve my healthy lifestyle, some days i skip a gym class because my baby is sick or i eat a bowel of jungle oats for dinner because i am too tired to cook and Mr hubster is working night shift.



Its the healthy habits that remain once one achieves the balance, i still enjoy a sugar coned ice-cream on a Sunday but ensure i do not have a second or third serving like i would before. Fizz drinks are a no thank you for me, i will rather have a glass of water and if i attend a birthday party i pack my own snacks to avoid me eating too many cup-cakes.

Self love can be many things, care for ones self or a trip to the Spa or catching up with your friend. Take care of yourself honey, feed your body with goodness, think positive and dress to impress always. Be proud of your body! i gave up the idea of being a size super small, i comfortably fit in a size medium and i am just fine with that! i love my body and embrace my curves by rocking them no matter who says what.


I do hope you enjoyed the details on our Self Love - Part Two, updates below.


Much Love & Blessings Lana T xxx


Recipe Ideas

  • Sweet- Potatoe Cottage Pie

  • Veggie Stir Fry

  • Grilled Chicken & Chunky Veg

  • Fresh Fish & Green Salad

  • Beef Stew

  • Grilled Chicken- Tika Curry

  • Butternut Soup

  • Wholewheat Cheese & Cherry Tomato Sand-which & Sweet Potatoe Fries

Few Updates!

  1. Durban Christian Centre South is our family church, join us at our Bluff Campus 08:00AM or at our Wentworth Campus 09:00 AM every Sunday for a powerful service.

  2. Visit my online store Shop Lana T we're getting ready for Spring!

  3. Feel at ease to drop me an email.

  4. Checkout my previous blog Self Love - Part One

  5. Let's be friends kindly subscribe to my site.

28 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page